Artnotes:  A Handful of Daffodils

 

2017-04-09-3799

Sunlight in the Door  Laurie Fox Pessemier  Acrylic/canvas 8 x 12″   20 x 30cm   175.00

It is so bright out I was forced to paint indoors this morning.  I love the look of the sun bursting into the dark interior.  Harika (my dog) and I are holding down the fort here, while Blair is in the USA.  He comes back on Monday (arriving Tuesday).  One never realizes how much another person does until you must do it all yourself.  Harika is zero help.

When I went to the USA, neighbors took Blair out for lunch, checked in to see was ok, et cetera.  Me?  Just call me “chopped liver”.  Must be a just-for-boys thing.  It’s ok, I actually have a lot to keep me busy; and my Modena friends checked in.

Blair sent a painting image he’s done in Connecticut.  He’s doing ok, my family is taking good care of him.

IMG_0256
The Old Carnell Company, Winsted   Blair Pessemier   Acrylic/canvas  11 x 14″  28 x 35.5 cm   250.00

I finished my writing.  I have moved the barbecue with the hornet’s nest inside to a location on the other side of the house, and put rocks over the hive entrance.  It’s a bit unnerving to step into the side yard, where those left outside are looking for home.  I feel very brave and hope not to have nightmares.

 

H and I spent a few days in Rimini.  I painted a four paintings, and we went to the beach a lot.  It was so surprising I was the only tourist.  Nine miles of beach, and not another person or dog in sight.   I went to the city one day, but I loved the giant expanse of silky sand beach too much to make the trek into town.

Our new trees all have leaves and flowers.  In fact, when I arrived the yard made me think of a chia pet – all green and fuzzy.  It seemed smaller, like when you put a carpet into a room.   I waded through the tall grass and picked a handful of daffodils.

 

 

2017-04-09-3798

A Handful of Daffodils   Laurie Fox Pessemier   Acrylic/canvas  8 x 12″  20 x 30cm  175.00

Leave a Reply

